Belmont Hill Track Wins Another ISL Championship

It has been an exceptionally successful track and field season for Belmont Hill this year. This is the fifth ISL Championship victory for the squad, dating back to 2017. Leading the way were exceptional captains Davi Souza Ribeiro ’23, Miles Sandowski ’24 and Will Lloyd ’23, who each played instrumental roles in the team’s success.

Runners Miles Sandowski ’24, Ashton Cruz ’24, Jordan Summers ’25, and Chris Milmoe ’23 all performed admirably, consistently outshining their competition. Their respective times in their events all ranked among the fastest in the ISL. In the long jump, Justin Lee ’26 played a crucial role in the team’s success by consistently achieving impressive jumps of 18 ft. Additionally, Garrett Theberge ‘24 led the pole vaulting group, guiding them to a highly successful season. On the Field side, athletes such as Scott Black ’24, Josiah Gomes ’24, Tommy Rupley ’25, and Samson Onuoha ’25 contributed significantly to the team’s accomplishments in events such as javelin, shot put, and the discus. Mr. Harder noted that “Jackson Pagan was stellar in the two hurdles events and 4 x 400m relay all season, with second place finishes in all of his races at the ISL Championship meet.” And that, “”We had a GREAT season, and certainly winning the ISL title again was wonderful for the squad.  They worked hard, and it paid off big-time at the two championship meets.  We are a young team, with most of our point scorers returning for 2024.” With an overall record of 14 wins and 1 loss, the team’s sole defeat came in a hard-fought regular season meet against Middlesex. The season culminated with a big victory at the ISL meet, securing the team an ISL title. At New England’s, the squad placed an impressive 5th in the top division. Mrs. Gorman commented, “We won the ISLs not due to one star, but because individuals—whether they were veterans or new to the sport—committed themselves to working hard throughout the season and ultimately stepped up at the championship meet.” The Panel extends their heartfelt congratulations to the entire team, as well as coaches Decaprio, Fowler, Gorman, Harder and Kirby for their exceptional guidance throughout the season.

Story Page